That’s why we’re waiting

Saudi woman have successfully won the battle against the ban of female driving in Saudi Arabia BUT unfortunately very few Saudi women have international driving license. Therefore, I don’t see any Saudi women driving
on the streets yet. I have seen the videos on YouTube and I know people who
know people who drove their cars but I have not seen any. That just tells me
that very few Saudi women own a driving license.

It’s very sad and unfortunate that Saudi Arabia has strict gender
segregation rules that prevent women from going to only males driving schools.

Two weeks ago Saudi women (who owns international driving license)
went out on the streets and started driving in public for the first time ever.

Saudi people were expecting the government to make a statement
regarding the ban of female driving but nothing came out. I personally
called 998 ( the traffic police) and asked them if women can go to local
driving schools. Their respond was ” We are waiting for an official statement
from the king that will be announced on TV soon, then you can get a driving
license from any Saudi driving schools here”. I said to myself ”this could be
a very historic day in Saudi Arabia and a huge step forward for equality”. However, nothing happened.

I don’t know how much longer I can wait; I am starting to run out
of patience.

4 thoughts on “That’s why we’re waiting

  1. a lot of saudi girls have international DL yet none are driving… my wife is one of them… I think this is a rumor…..

  2. I know that a lot of very brave Saudi women are protesting by driving. But the king nor any other authority has said that any women in Saudi are free to drive, and it is now 2014. I, too, think that it is coming within the next few years, but that wonderful day has not yet arrived. The Saudi women are impressing me with their courage and determination. I am cheering them on and wishing them the freedoms they deserve.

Leave a Reply

